The Second Stimulus Package

8 Jul

Download Here

Funkrunt and B-Tips have joined forces to deliver the second installment of an economic recovery plan that not even our slow-jamming President could push through Congress. Your host Colin Mannex procured the set-list and sent the material to Isaac B-Tips Michael ( for production. After a few conversations about mixing aesthetics, the collaborative duo realized that The Second Stimulus Package might lead to some mutually exciting opportunities; the mix went through a few drafts without any partisan objections. After weeks in careful correspondence–and much more time spent digging–the creative team behind this momentous compilation felt confident to bring it before the American public.

As with the first stimulus package, these songs have been compiled to respond to the current slump in our global economy. Whereas the first installment harnessed rippin’ funk-and-blues energy to express personal outrage over real poverty and impoverished relationships, this mix addresses a similarly troubled world without the same anger. The biggest difference between these “packages” has to do with their respective genres. Most songs on this mix were recorded a full decade after material on the first economic recovery compilation. The tracks here represent a certain generic evolution from raw funk to disco boogie. With less regional diversity in late-70s/early-80s dance music, disco usually showcases a more specifically urban experience. You’ll hear references to NYC’s boroughs, campaigns to fight crime and drug abuse, and civic tension resulting from a highly visible stratification between rich and poor. As disco typically serves a working-class reprieve from the daily grind, it’s uncommon to find four-on-the-floor dance cuts that directly confront the era’s biggest social problems. The selection process on The Second Stimulus Package thus presented some difficulties, but curiously, the mood never collapses, however contentious or embattled the music’s themes. The modal changes from funk to boogie also carried differences in tone; the insuperable optimism in this mix should be evident to any casual listener.

Track List:
1. Golden Flamingo Orchestra – The Guardian Angel Is Watching Over Us
2. Universal Robot Band – Barely Breaking Even
3. Elkie Brooks – The Rising Cost of Love
4. Rainbow Brown – Till You Surrender
5. Mighty Mo & The Winchester Seven – The Next Message
6. Prince Charles & The City Beat Band – Cash, Money
7. Freez – I.O.U.
8. Intrigue – I Like It
9. Ca$hflow – Spending Money
10. Rhetta Hughes – Angel Man
11. Multivizion – Work to Live; Don’t Live to Work
12. Dennis Greene – Great Escape

Photo Credit: Barbara Crane.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: